Ok so I was going to post all about how we went to a birthday party on Saturday.  I’ve even loaded the photos on to my computer…but then I found a new blog to follow… How Sweet It Is… written by a fitness buff and food lover.  Something I totally relate to.  Ok…confession…just the food lover part.  Fitness buff just isn’t in my DNA.

Yesterday she posted a recipe for “Happy Chicken”  renamed from the original  “Funeral Chicken” which I renamed into Italian Chicken.  Boy this poor chicken probably has an identity crisis by now…

Anyways – I didn’t exactly follow her recipe but it was close and it turned out so well I thought I’d share my dinner recipe and save the birthday photos for later in the week.  That being said here’s a quick snap shot of my dinner:

Please Excuse the poor quality of this shot.  I didn’t edit it…it was dark outside = horrendous lighting…and I was hungry so I just did one quick shot.  And please no comments about my lack of veggies…I’ll do better tomorrow promise!

Here’s what I did:

ingredients:

6 boneless, skinless chicken tenders

3 egg whites

1 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley (fresh would be nice…but it wasn’t in my cabinets…go figure!)

1/2-1 cup breadcrumbs (also not fresh – but would be nice if you got ‘em)

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon oregano

1/2 teaspoon dried onion flakes

1 teaspoon basil

1/2 teaspoon pepper

a few drizzles of olive oil

1 cup chicken stock

a glug or 2 of white wine (or not whatever your preference)

some provolone and parmesan (measurements unknown…or I don’t want to admit to just how much I used!)

*Note:  I don’t really measure my spices.  I’m just a eyeballing kind of gal so these are approximate.  Feel free to use more or less – whatever suits ya

Add thawed chicken to ziplock bag with egg whites and parsely.  Leave in fridge for an hour or so.  Clean your house, paint your nails, take a nap, whatever…

Preheat oven to 350.  Add breadcrumbs and remaining spices to a plate (mix it all together).  Heat a large skillet to medium heat and add enough olive oil to coat the bottom.  Once oil is heated through, dip chicken tenders into breadcrumb mixture to coat.  Add to pan and brown on each side (2-3 minutes a side).   Remove tenders and place in baking dish (9×9 inch is probably just fine).  Add chicken stock and white wine to the pan (no need to measure the wine…just add a few glugs).  Sprinkle cheeses over top of chicken.  Bake for 25 minutes. 

When it came out of the oven it didn’t look cheesy enough for this girl, so I added a few slivers of provolone and parmesan to the top.  At this point you could toss it back in the oven for 4-5 minutes until melted…or you can cover the pan and let the cheeses steam to a semi-melted state.  I just ate ‘em that way and it tasted just fine.  In fact, so fine I polished the plate clean!

 Next time I think I’ll make some roasted garlic mashed potatoes to go with this…MMmm I can taste them now!  I guess I could make a veggie too (that would be the healthy thing to do).  This really was super quick and easy, and as a bonus it was fantastic!

