I love to eat…love to eat…I also love to cook/bake/make food a mess in my kitchen.  This fact always shocks my mother.  She is a fantastic cook and a great source of cooking/baking/mess making instructions.  I didn’t take full advantage of this information growing up.  I helped around the kitchen a little – but really starting cooking all on my own when I first lived in an apartment with a real stove!  One thing I did learn from her however is how to use almost every dish/pan/utensil in the kitchen for each meal.  I’m really good at making a mess.  She didn’t however pass on her good skills of cleaning up.  I do ok though.

Anyways I thought I’d share some of my cooking adventures here.  Right now in my oven is my very first attempt of baking fresh cheesy-garlicy-bread.  I hope it turns out edible…if not, at least my house smells amazing right now!  I also documented the bread baking process.  If all goes well I’ll share it here sometime soon. 

But for today…I bring you Almond Pound Cake with Raspberry Topping

This cake was super easy – it was an upgraded cake mix.  Don’t judge me for using a cake mix…it’s fast…it’s easy…it’s delicious!  But you could use any pound cake recipe you want.

I used the plain pound cake box mix and added a teaspoon of almond extract then baked it according to the box directions.  (It wasn’t as almond-y as I would have liked…next time I’d added another teaspoon). 

But plain pound cake just wasn’t enough – I needed some topping!  So I used my raspberry filling recipe (which is great between cake layers and would also be good as a cupcake filling! This time I spread it on top of each slice and added a dollop of cool-whip (with a little vanilla extract added to make it taste home-made) right before serving. Oh man – it was moist, and perfect with a little tang from the raspberry filling! You should try it sometime.

Enjoy!

Raspberry filling:

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups frozen raspberries

1 ½ tablespoon cornstarch

2 tablespoons lemon juice (fresh would be good, but I used the fake stuff since that’s what I had on hand)

¼ cup sugar

Directions:

  1. Put all ingredients in a small sauce pan and bring to a boil
  2. Let cool slightly, then strain through a fine mesh strainer (this helps get rid of all those gross, crunchy, appetite-ruining seeds).  But if you’re ok with seeds…you can skip this step
  3. Finish cooling then spread on top of each slice before eating
