I did it…I finally grew up and made my first holiday meal.  My parents made the trip down to visit this weekend as did my man’s parents.  We decided to bring the families together.  After all, isn’t that what holidays are all about?  After everyone was invited, I started to panic…what would I make…where would they sit…I don’t even own 6 chairs suitable for a dining room…how was my house going to get cleaned!?!

Well the house got cleaned (thank goodness I had Friday off and my parents got a late start), I begged asked them nicely to bring me some extra chairs from their house, I shoved the couch over so their was room around the table, then I got on the internet to find some dishes suitable for a holiday meal.  What would I do without the internet!?

Here’s what I served:

Ham (duh!  Isn’t that what everyone eats on Easter? Well maybe not but I sure did, I just followed the recipe to reheat since it was a spiral sliced deal)

Roasted Garlic and Gorgonzola Smashed Potatoes (Delicious!  Heavenly! Creamy! Perfection!)

Gorgonzola Popovers (I don’t think I baked these long enough, the outside was great but the inside was a little doughy…next time I’ll leave them in a bit longer but I didn’t want the rest of dinner to get cold.  Also I may add a pinch more salt next time)

Whiskey Glazed Carrots (These were FANTASTIC…a veggie that I really loved! I did change up the recipe a bit, I used less brown sugar (by ~1/4 cup), less whiskey (I only had about 1/3 cup in the bottle *hiccup* not sure where the rest went *hiccup*) and I used less butter (~1/3 stick less) since I don’t have 4 children to chase after like the Pioneer Woman does I gotta cut back on the butter.  But they were amazing and I will be making these again and again and again!)

Salad (I mixed up a bag of spinach and romaine lettuce then added red onion, green peppers, tomatoes, croutons, and freshly grated parmesan cheese…served with a little caesar vinaigrette mixed with sweet Italian dressing…yum!)

Lunch was great…I don’t have a lot of left overs which I take as a good sign that everyone else liked their meals too.  It’s been a nice weekend; good weather, trees are blooming, and family was together!  It was a nice Easter, I hope yours was too.

