I find the creative process and creative evaluation fascinating.  This concept was part of the reason I started blogging.  I wanted a record of my creative adventures.  I wanted to look back and see what I did, why I did it, and how my work has evolved.

Defining my creative vision has been a long and continuous process.  I don’t think I have reached the maturity in my work yet to be able to define my exact style.  And I’m ok with that.  I like to see my work evolve and change as I’m influenced by others.  Gosh what did people do before the internet?  Aren’t we lucky to be able to see so many people’s work, processes, and thoughts all in one place?

I think part of growing and learning is figuring out my strengths and my weaknesses and then determining a way to highlight my strengths while working to improve on my weaknesses.  Although it can be difficult to self-reflect in this manner.  I think it’s time for me to post here. You all hold me accountable.  We all need someone to keep us accountable.

Strengths:  I find this portion much more difficult to talk about, it’s hard to talk about what I’m good at.  I think it was part of my upbringing.  I was raised to be modest…and although my personality doesn’t exactly reflect modesty at all times.  I am modest about my personal, creative, and professional strengths.  That being said….in terms of my photography I think I am good at photographing things that don’t move.  I find I do well with macro & close-up photography.  I think I also do well thinking outside the box in terms of creative ideas and methods of photography.

Weaknesses Limitations Areas for Growth:  There are several areas that are areas for growth in my photography.  These things aren’t really new concepts to me…but I have been working hard to work on these areas.  I will show you my plans to do so below:

1. Actually taking photos:  This seems crazy, I love to take photos.  I love the sound of the shutter clicking away.  I love having the final product, but sometimes I just forget or I don’t stop and take the time to take the pictures.  I don’t always have my camera with me either.  I feel self-conscious busting it out in certain places.  I’ll talk to anyone about anything…except I don’t like explaining my photography.  Strange right?  Maybe it’s because I’m always getting busted and I don’t want people to yell at me for taking pictures of things!

How to fix it:  I am improving at this…I am… I swear.  I have been reminding myself to actually take my camera places.  Now sometimes this means I just have my camera and I don’t actually remove it from my camera bag.  So this is the next step.  Everytime I take my camera somewhere I’m going to take a photo…even if it is not what I intended or even if it’s not a “keeper”

2. Taking a step back.  I am great at the close up shots…sometimes I forget to zoom out.  I am a detail girl…but I need to work on taking pictures of the bigger picture.

How to fix it: Zoom out – duh!

3. People.  Don’t get me wrong.  I don’t think my people shots are bad…and I really enjoy shooting people.  I just need to keep practicing.  I feel my close-up inanimate object photo skills are at times stronger than my take-a-step-back-people shots.  I’m working on gaining the experience and growing in my skills.  I’ve already grown a lot but now I’m at the point where I need to refine and learn even more. 

How to fix it: As I said…I don’t need to “fix” my people photo skills exactly…I just need to continue to practice.  Click, click, click that’s all!

I don’t post all this as a pity party…far from it.  I just want to put it out there that I am self-evaluating and to point out the areas I can work on.  Writing it down helps me to make it real.  And it also keeps me honest and holds me accountable for my own growth.  I think we all need to do that from time to time!

