Some weekends are just made to be remembered forever.  You know those moments in life that you can just feel if you close  your eyes.  For me they feel like warm summer breezes, cool dewey grass on your bare feet, the front porch and a good book…I had one of those weekends filled with moments just like that…and as I close my eyes I can taste & feel the lovely-ness that was my weekend in Nashville.

Oh Nashville…you will forever be added to my list of favorite places. It will fall somewhere behind Rhode Island (because it would take a lot to top RI), and on par with the beach…yup it was that good!

For those of you who may not be aware, let me give you a little background on why this trip felt so special.  I moved from Illinois to Alabama earlier this year.  It was a semi-temporary move meaning I could stay if I wanted, or I could come back but I was contracted to be in the deep south for at least 1 year.  Now leaving Illinois for a year meant several things….I was leaving the beautiful Midwest country landscape, I was leaving my good friends, my family, and my boyfriend.  Yes…he stayed behind in Illinois.  And yes…it SUCKS!

I spend many, many Saturday mornings & Sunday evenings at the airport.  And each Sunday as I board my plane a little black cloud hangs over my head as I watch my home, friends, family, and boyfriend get smaller and smaller as I’m whisked away back to Alabama. This is sad, very sad.  Now don’t get me wrong.  Moving to Alabama as a whole was a good experience, I’m glad I’m doing it, I would recommend moving away & living in a new place for awhile to everyone…I just wish Joel was here too.  But for various reasons…that just wouldn’t work out.

So … back to Nashville.  Nashville is an in-between spot for us.  So instead of flying another weekend, we decided to meet in the middle and have a vacation weekend in Nashville.

Work on Friday could not have seemed any longer.  I was so anxious to jump in my car and get on my way.  Turns out a large accident which shut down the interstate delayed my arrival by ~2.5 hours.  But once I arrived the vacation started.

Saturday morning we headed out to a little winery just South of Nashville. 

I loved it!

We lounged half the day away, in the middle of nowhere, drinking wine, staring at the grapevines, and just talking.

Then we went downtown Nashville to eat dinner, which was the best meal of my life.  The food was fantastic, the atmosphere was great, and even the company was pretty good. 

After prying ourselves out of our booth after dinner (we ate so much it hurt to move)… we made our way downtown.  We popped in to some very fun stores…

After strolling along the strip, stopping to listen to musicians playing in the street we stopped at a bar to have a few drinks & a little dancing.  Ok so I danced…Joel just laughed at me.  We had fun but were still in bed by 11 because we act like old people.  It’s ok though becuase it was one of those happy days…when you just can’t stop smiling. 

When the weekend wound down on Sunday I had to say goodbye…which gets harder everytime.  But just closing my eyes and thinking about Nashville makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.  It was just that kind of weekend.

*My appologies for gushing about my fantastic weekend, I’ll be back to my slightly sarcastic self soon….but when something this good comes up … it’s hard not to share!

