I love to make cupcakes. Probably because I feel less guilty eating a dozen cupcakes than I do eating a whole cake.  Ok…so I don’t really eat a dozen cupcakes. But I do like that they are easier to eat, easier to decorate and that my coworkers take care of eating all my extras!

But I do still like to decorate them. Afterall…I’m now an expert decorator after my cake decorating classes (sarcasm).  I made a batch of lemon cupcakes last week and decided to decorate them for Valentine’s Day with cupcake picks. You can buy cupcake picks for any occasion, but they are pretty expensive! So I decided to make my own. This was so easy, cheap and can be customized for any and all occasions! Win-Win-Win!

To customize these, you could print out images, words, or even photos and follow the same basic steps below to make picks for anything you might need. Just think, holidays, parties, birthdays and everything in between!  And I bet you have most of these supplies on hand!

You’ll Need:

– Paper (I used red construction paper I had on hand and white computer paper)

– Hole punch (Mine is about 1 inches in diameter, but you could trace something round and cut out the circles with scissors too)

– Glue

– Toothpicks

– Marker

– Craft knife

Instructions:

All you have to do is punch out 2 circles and glue them together with the toothpick in the middle. So easy! And much cheaper than buying them!)

To make the heart pick I cut a heart out of one red circle using a craft knife and added an extra white circle behind it so the toothpick wouldn’t show through.  For the letters I just wrote them on the blank white circles before gluing it all together. But you could easily print out the letters if you don’t like your handwriting.

Give them a try next time you have to make cupcakes! They are so easy you’ll wonder why you ever bought cupcake picks to begin with.

