I love Dr. Seuss. I think he was a genius! Even as an adult I find his books fun.  The incredible writing and rhyming makes them fun to read aloud, the memories and the illustrations remind me of being a kid. There just isn’t anyone like Dr. Seuss. His birthday is tomorrow & it has also been adopted as National Read Across America Day.  A coworker of mine asked me to make some cupcakes in honor of Dr. Seuss for her son’s 4th grade class.  Considering my love of cupcakes + Dr. Seuss, I couldn’t say yes fast enough!

First I started by dyeing the cupcake batter 3 bright colors (I think Dr. Seuss would be proud!) I split the batter into 3 equal parts and dyed them bright yellow, blue and green. Then I spooned all 3 colors into each cupcake liner.  Sorry I can’t show you the inside (since I made just enough cupcakes) but here is a picture of the tops. Aren’t they fun? (P.S. took this photo at night in my poorly lit apartment..sorry for the weird color cast)

Now for the fun part…

Cat in the Hat

– To make the hats, I googled “Cat in the Hat” & found an image of the famous hat illustration. I printed out a picture placed it on a cookie sheet under a piece of wax paper. I melted colored red + white chocolate chips in ziplock bags that were left unzipped in the microwave (just don’t microwave for too long).  I snipped off a small corner of the bag once the chips were melted smooth, then used it as a piping bag to trace over the hat design.  At first they look lumpy and not smooth but if you pick up one corner of the cookie sheet and drop it a few times it will smooth right out!  Once they were dry I popped them off the wax paper and stuck them in the cupcakes.

Thing 1 + Thing 2

Thank you google and many websites for this great idea! I used blue frosting to create the thing’s “hair”.  Then I found a free “Dr. Seuss” font and used it to print out the “Thing 1 and Thing 2” tags, which I taped to red cupcake liners.

Green Eggs and Ham

These just might be my favorites!  I used melted white chocolate (as described above) + small balls of green fondant to create the eggs. I used green + white fondant to shape cute little hams.  Ok – so I think they look like hams. I figured once you saw the green eggs the rest would fall into place.

Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!  Thanks for writing the world’s best childrens books + inspiring fun cupcake decorations…You’ll always be one of my favorites!

