I hate to write about negative things.  This blog was always intended to be a place where I could share things that I love, embrace my creative side, & focus on the positive.  But sometimes things happen that aren’t so happy. Things that are full of sadness but are still too important not to share.  I feel the need to write about what has happened over the past few days, but I’m not sure that I have the right words to really express how I feel. Last June I had the same problem and had a similar story to post, even last weekend I had to write about how storms had changed my Easter weekend plans.  And maybe its all these events combined that make this so hard to handle. 

If you’ve turned on the news in the last 2 days undoubtedly you’ve seen 2 stories; The Royal Wedding & the tornadoes that tore through Alabama & the rest of the Southeast.  Thankfully I was out of town for work when the storms rolled through & my apartment sustained no damage. I was confused at first since I had been without TV or internet for several days and was blissfully unaware of what was happening but all of a sudden the text messages, emails & phone calls started.  I couldn’t set my phone down for a good hour.  I appreciated every single one. Thank you. This might only be a temporary home for me, but it doesn’t make it any less sad to see a town reduced to piles of lumber & tree limbs.  My heart goes out to everyone affected by the storm & those who lost everything.

President Obama was here today to survey the damage.  That’s never a good thing. And while this photo only shows a tiny glimpse of the devastation that is evident throughout town & in the faces of the residents, I know that the positive part is that this is a friendly, warm, pitch-in-and-help kind of community.  This community is like family & the rebuilding has already started. Although I know it will be a long, long road to recovery, this community will come together.

