I told you that I wouldn’t fail again today.  I said I was going to actually unpack my camera and take some pictures.  And I did.  Woo!

So I decided to explore an area of town that I have been eyeing for a while.  There’s a big river that runs through town & there are lots of paths and trees and benches that run alongside it. It’s a pretty nice place.  I went there today and although it was HOT & SUNNY (read: sweaty) I got a few keepers.

And then…while I was shooting…I noticed an old-school boat. Sorry I don’t know anything about boats. I mean I’m from a Midwestern, land-locked town.  Sure we had a river…but I never got in it.  And if I did…I wasn’t there to learn about boats!  I just know this was an old style one.  With the big paddle thing on the back.  I hope someone know what I’m talking about!

Anyway, talk about good timing! What a perfect prop for my pictures!

And then because I seem to like geometric shapes, repletion & pattern…I found this park bench interesting.

 

It felt really nice to get out my camera again.  I’ve been in a funk lately.  This move was a big one for me.  I left everyone behind and I think it was getting to me at first.  My daily routine changed dramatically as did my support system & the climate.  It’s no joke saying that the South is HOT!  But I’m trying to take the advice of one of my favorite bloggers (Confessions of a Young Married Couple) to “bloom where I am planted“.  And I think this was a good step in the right direction.